(6/14/23) NARC by the NUM8ER5!, Fastest Four Days in Motorsports, By Ben Deatherage … Well, the time is finally here! The Fastest Four Days In Motorsports have arrived for the NARC 410 Sprint Car Series, and there’s no doubt that it will be an unforgettable time for all the right reasons. 2023 is the second straight year that the mini-series has taken place in the Pacific Northwest.

Thursday night kicks it all off at Southern Oregon Speedway before everyone continues to move north. Friday will be a highly anticipated date at the Douglas County Dirt Track, while Saturday is reserved for Willamette Speedway. Grays Harbor Raceway will be the lone date in Washington to cap the weekend off on Sunday night.

The history of the Fastest Four Days In Motorsports began in 2019, and the first two editions took place in California. Eight drivers have won in eleven completed FFDM shows, with Tim Kaeding, Justin Sanders, and Dominic Scelzi the only two-time feature winners. Kyle Larson, Bud Kaeding, Mitchell Faccinto, Willie Croft, and Trey Starks all have one win to their credit. Tim Kaeding was the inaugural champion, while Dominic Scelzi has been the title winner for the last two years.

Southern Oregon Speedway has the most history with the NARC 410 Sprint Car Series. The first sanctioned race at SOS was in 2003, and they were a consistent staple to the schedule until 2012. However, last year was the first time since the 2012 event, and the track hadn’t hosted a 410 race since 2014 when the World of Outlaws last went there. That all changed in 2022 when Dominic Scelzi opened the weekend with a thrilling triumph.

Donny Schatz is the current track record holder with a 10.930 set in August 2006. The track has had two local 360 shows this year, and Tanner Holmes won the most recent one last Saturday night. Garen Linder won the other one earlier this year.

The Douglas County Dirt Track will be the newest facility to host a NARC event. They did host a 360 Sprint Car race on Memorial Day Weekend, and Justin Sanders dominated the feature. The venue hosted only one 410 event on dirt in August 1995, where Paul McMahan won.

Willamette Speedway will have the NARC 410 Sprint Car Series on hand for the second straight season. Last year Justin Sanders obliterated the all-time track record and timed in at a blistering 11.214 seconds, while Willie Croft won. The track hosted a pair of Limited Sprint events last weekend, but this will be the first and only time the 410s will be there in 2023.

Grays Harbor Raceway is in the same boat for its second event with the series as they host the Timber Cup. Trey Starks dominated the main event and has yet to be defeated in his home state in 410 racing. David Gravel is the current track record holder with an 11.561 set in September 2021.

GHR has had three local 360 Sprint shows in the year, with Jay Cole winning twice and Evan Margeson once.

Big crowds are expected for all four nights, and that’s no surprise. These venues are starving for 410 racing, and the NARC 410 Sprint Car Series will undoubtedly satisfy their appetite. Another thing to note with the incredible championship battle to become the King of the West is that these tracks are a bit of a wildcard and could shake things.

I’m looking forward to seeing racing in my backyard for the next week and a half and can’t wait to keep this Fastest Four Days In Motorsports tradition alive and well.