(7/10/21 – Jim Allen) Petaluma, CA …  Tim Kaeding captured his second NARC King of the West Fujitsu Sprint Car Series 30-lap feature victory of the season Saturday night, scoring the popular Salute to Baylands Raceway Park at Petaluma Speedway.

Kaeding started fifth in the grid aboard the Bates-Hamilton ABC Companies-sponsored Maxim and passed Bud Kaeding on a lap 19 restart to take a lead that he would never surrender.  It was the 70th series victory of his career, second on the all-time list.

Bud Kaeding set the standard for the first 11 laps until the caution flag came out for a Sean Becker.  On the restart, 15-year old Joel Myers Jr. and defending champion and ARP fast qualifier DJ Netto both powered past the leader in the first corner to pace the field.  The two appeared to be in a class of their own and began to distance themselves from the field when disaster struck on lap 18 in lap traffic.  Myers got tangled with a slower car in the fourth turn and Netto, with no place to go, got reeled into the fracas also.  Myers was done for the night and Netto had to restart at the back of the pack.

On the ensuing restart, it was the battle of the Kaeding’s as they drag raced into the first turn.  Tim Kaeding rode the highline on the Petaluma gumbo and catapulted into the lead motoring out of the second turn.  At that point, he was off to the races posting some of the fastest lap times of the night.

Sixth starter Andy Forsberg was on the move in his A&A Stepping Stone sprinter during the final laps and passed Bud Kaeding for the second spot with only two laps remaining.  He finished five car lengths behind the winner.  B. Kaeding held on for third in the Al’s Roofing Supply Maxim.  Dominic Scelzi and Justin Sanders rounded out the top five.

“It’s always great racing against my brother,” said TK in victory lane.  “It usually a 50-50 deal on who is going to come out on top, but tonight, we had the best race car and he was a little tight.”

The balance of the top ten featured Jessie Attard, rookie-of-the-year point leader Billy Aton, DJ Netto, Michael Ing and Swift Metal Finishing hardcharger Sean Watts.

FUJITSU FEATURE EVENT (30 laps)  42X Tim Kaeding, 92 Andy Forsberg, 69 Bud Kaeding, 41 Dominic Scelzi, 16A Justin Sanders, 53 Jessie Attard, 26 Billy Aton, 88N DJ Netto, 21 Michael Ing, 98 Sean Watts, 7H Jake Haulot, 76 Kenny Allen, 18 Michael Sellers, 56 Joel Myers Jr., 09S Geoffrey Strole, 83V Sean Becker, 3 Bill Cornwell, 93 Stephen Ingraham.

HOOSIER TIRE LAPS LEADERS: B. Kaeding 1-11, Myers 12-18, T Kaeding 19-30


ARP FAST QUALIFIER (19 cars):  DJ Netto – 12.960 seconds

BROWN & MILLER HEAT RACE #1 (10 laps):  Dominic Scelzi, Michael Ing, DJ Netto, Jake Haulot, Joe Myers Jr., Stephen Ingraham, Bill Cornwell.

FUJITSU GENERAL USA HEAT RACE #2 (10 laps):  Sean Becker, Bud Kaeding, Kenny Allen, Jessie Attard, Sean Watts, Ryan Timms.

FLORACING.COM HEAT RACE #3 (10 laps):  Tim Kaeding, Andy Forsberg, Billy Aton, Justin Sanders, Michael Sellers, Geoffrey Strole.

SUNNYVALLEY “POWERED BY BACON” DASH (6 laps):  Bud Kaeding, Dominic Scelzi, DJ Netto, Tim Kaeding, Andy Forsberg, Joel Myers Jr.

Tim Kaeding gets the job done at Petaluma Speedway. Photo by Donna Peter
Bud Kaeding & Joel Myers Jr. battle wheel-to-wheel. Photo by Donna Peter.