(8/22/19) By Jim Allen, Chico, CA …  Tim Kaeding found himself in the right place at the right time and capitalized to score round two of the King of the West by NARC Fujitsu Sprint Car Series “Fastest Four Days in Motorsports” at Silver Dollar Speedway.  He pocketed $5000 for his efforts!

Kaeding, started the 30-lapper in the fourth spot aboard Rod Tiner’s Shark Racing Engines Helix sprint car and watched the race unfold in front of him.  He motored past fast qualifier Andy Forsberg on the second circuit for the runner-up spot and then had a front row seat when race leader Shane Golobic’s motor blew on lap six.  At the same time that was happening, the race came to a screeching halt when Stephen Ingraham took a nasty barrel roll down the backchute.  He suffered a knee injury but limped away from his destroyed race car under his own power.  Cole Macedo also turned it over in this flurry of mayhem.

Kaeding inherited the lead for the restart, but had to fend off a tailgating Kyle Larson and the freight train that included Forsberg, Mitchell Faccinto, Bud Kaeding and Colby Copeland.  Larson began to challenge the leader as the pair zigged and zagged through slower traffic.  However, Larson charge ended when he jumped the cushion and spun on lap 17, bringing out the caution.

The two-time King of the West champion continued where he left off and survived two more caution periods on his way to his 67th career series victory.  Kaeding put an exclamation point on his win with a massive crowd pleasing wheelie at the checkered.

The battle for the runner-up position was a classic open wheel battle that saw the next three drivers swap positions on a corner by corner basis.  Pole Shuffle winner Mitchell Faccinto ultimately won that battle in the TSG Recycling Disposal KPC.  Forsberg settled for the show position aboard his own A & A Stepping Stone sprint car.  Fourteenth starter Bud Kaeding drove the Alviso Rock Maxim to a fourth place finish.  Colby Copeland scored fifth piloting the Antaya Motorsports Maxim.

“This one feels real good,” said a happy Kaeding in victory lane.  “I don’t know how many of these wins I have left in my career so I’m enjoying every one!  I can’t say enough about Rod Tiner and this team who gave me a great race car.  This one was a lot of fun!”

The second five to take the checkered was 18th starter Nathan Rolfe, series point leader DJ Netto, ninth row starter and semi-winner Dominic Scelzi, Larson, and Rico Abreu.  Rolfe’s efforts earned him the Swift Metal Finishing hardcharger award.

Willie Croft also got upside down early in the feature.  He was unhurt.

Heat races were claimed by Golobic, Bud Kaeding, Jonathan Allard, and Michael Ing.

FUJITSU FEATURE EVENT (30-laps):  Tim Kaeding, Mitchell Faccinto, Andy Forsberg, Bud Kaeding, Colby Copeland, Nathan Rolfe, DJ Netto, Dominic Scelzi, Kyle Larson, Rico Abreu, Jonathan Allard, Geoff Ensign, Ryan Bernal, Sean Watts, Heath Hall, Chelsea Blevins, Michael Ing, Gary Paulson, Shane Golobic, Stephen Ingraham, Cole Macedo, Willie Croft, Sean Becker.

LAP LEADERS:  Forsberg 1, Golobic 2-6, T. Kaeding 7-30.

ARP FAST QUALIFIER (29 cars): Andy Forsberg – 11.258 seconds

BROWN & MILLER RACING SOLUTIONS FIRST HEAT (10 laps):  Shane Golobic, Colby Copeland, Andy Forsberg, Kyle Larson, Geoff Ensign, Dominic Scelzi, Jason Statler, Travis Moore.

FK ROD ENDS SECOND HEAT (10 laps):  Bud Kaeding, Nathan Rolfe, Mitchell Faccinto, Sean Becker, Chelsea Blevins, Blake Carrick, Chase Johnson.

SPEEDSHIFT TV/MVP THIRD HEAT (10 laps): Jonathan Allard, Willie Croft, DJ Netto, Heath Hall, Sean Watts, Gary Paulson, Rico Abreu.    

KAEDING PERFORMANCE CENTER FOURTH HEAT (10 laps):  Michael Ing, Kenny Allen, Tim Kaeding, Stephen Ingraham, Ryan Bernal, Cole Macedo, Jenna Frazier.

FOUR CCCC’S CONSTRUCTION/SUNNYVALLEY BACON POLE SHUFFLE (6 laps):  Croft beat Ing; T. Kaeding beat Croft; Golobic beat T. Kaeding; Faccinto beat Golobic; Faccinto beat Forsberg.

SAFECRAFT SAFETY EQUIPMENT SEMI (12 laps):  Dominic Scelzi, Rico Abreu, Cole Macedo, Chase Johnson, Gary Paulson, Blake Carrick, Jason Statler, Jenna Frazier, Travis Moore.