10/30/18 – Stockton, CA  … The winged 410 sprint cars of the King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series will wrap up their super-competitive 2018 campaign, this Saturday, November 3rd at the Stockton Dirt Track with the 35th Annual Tribute to Gary Patterson.  Also on the program at this championship event is the Sprint Car Challenge Tour 360 sprint cars, in a night of action guaranteed to thrill any open wheel racing fan.

Paradise, CA driver Kyle Hirst will be looking to lock down his fourth King of the West-NARC driving title at Stockton.  However, there is still work to be done as Shane Golobic of Elk Grove is within striking distance of the championship point leader.

Entering the event, Hirst holds a narrow 16-point advantage over Golobic (1363 – 1347).  With qualifying points in play, there are many different scenarios in play on what it would take to win the title.  The bottom line is that if Hirst can finish 10th or better in the main event, he will mathematically clinch the crown, no matter what Golobic does.  Hirst has managed to accomplish that feat in 15 of this season’s 16 events.

“I don’t plan on driving with a calculator in my pocket on Saturday,” said Hirst, who has scored five victories this season aboard the Fresno-based sprint car for Dennis & Teresa Roth.  “What I do know is that if I do my job, the math will work out in my teams favor.  I plan to stay focused and out of trouble.”

On the other hand, Golobic has been a model of consistency this season with four victories.  He leads the sanctioning body with a dozen podium finishes driving for Tarlton Motorsports.  He hasn’t finished worse than seventh this season.

“Anything can happen,” admitted Golobic, “and I’ll be prepared either way.  My team has kept me out front and in contention all season.  We plan to do the same in Stockton.”

Hirst is also in position to lock down the Sprint Car Challenge Tour driving title as well on Saturday, meaning he will be competing in two different cars.  There is also a $1100 Double-Duty Challenge bonus to any driver who can win both the King of the West-NARC & SCCT main events on the same night.

While Hirst and Golobic may steal most of the headlines this weekend, a full field of strong competitors will be looking to steal the HydrochemPSC-sponsored $4000 winners paycheck.  Among them will be 2017 series champion Bud Kaeding of Campbell; Penngrove’s Chase Johnson; Roseville drivers Colby Copeland and Willie Croft; rookie drivers Dustin Golobic of Fremont and Jenna Frazier of Sacramento; Atwater’s Nathan Rolfe and Sean Watts; Hanford’s DJ Netto and Mitchell Faccinto; Dominic Scelzi of Fresno; Tanner Thorson of Minden, NV; Rutherford’s Rico Abreu; Jarrett Soares of Discovery Bay; Justyn Cox of Sacamento; and many others.

The King of the West-NARC main pays $650 to start.

Pit gates open at noon.  Front gates open at 3:00 p.m.  Qualifying will get underway at 5:00 p.m.

The Stockton Dirt Track is located on the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds in Stockton, CA.  The address is 1658 S. Airport Way, Stockton, CA  95206.  For more information, call 209-466-9999, or go to NARC410.com

ED NOTE:  There will be a special Night of Champions Autograph session between 4 pm and 6 p.m.  There will also be live music and a car show taking place beginning at noon.

November 4 – Brookside Country Club, Stockton, CA – Championship Awards Banquet (A handful of tickets remain.  Call 714-397-7417 if interested.)

(After 15 events in 16-race Series – 10/30/18)

  1. Kyle Hirst, Paradise (5) 1363
  2. Shane Golobic, Fremont (4) 1347
  3. Bud Kaeding, Campbell (1) 1292
  4. Chase Johnson, Penngrove 1264
  5. Colby Copeland, Roseville (1) 1225
  6. Dustin Golobic, Fremont ® 1183
  7. Nathan Rolfe, Atwater 1102
  8. Jenna Frazier, Sacramento ® 1064
  9. DJ Netto, Hanford 1064
  10. Willie Croft, Roseville (1) 1042
  11. Sean Watts, Atwater 909
  12. Jason Statler, Grass Valley 876
  13. Jarrett Soares, Discovery Bay 790
  14. Bobby McMahan, Elk Grove 769
  15. Mitchell Faccinto, Hanford (1) 761
  16. Tanner Thorson, Minden NV 667
  17. Richard Brace Jr., Auburn 651
  18. Mathew Moles, Fresno 543
  19. Matt Dumesny, Sydney, Australia 520
  20. Justin Sanders, Watsonville (2) 513

1984- Chuck Gurney
1985- Brent Kaeding
1986- Tim Green
1987- Jimmy Sills
1988- Jeff Swindell
1989- Jason Mcmillen
1990- Jimmy Sills
1991- Tim Green
1992- Tim Green
1993- Randy Tiner
1994- Brent Kaeding
1995- Paul Mcmahan
1996- Steve Kent
1997- Randy Tiner
1998- Randy Hannagan
1999- Brent Kaeding
2000- Steve Kent
2001- Brent Kaeding
2002- Jason Meyers
2003- Dennis Moore Jr.
2004- Sparky Howard
2005- Steve Kent
2006- Steve Kent
2007- Jonathan Allard
2008- Tim Kaeding
2009- Kyle Hirst
2010- Zach Zimmerly
2011- Peter Murphy
2012- Rico Abreu
2013- (410) Rico Abreu, (360) Tim Kaeding
2014- (410) Shane Golobic, (360) Rico Abreu
2015- (410) Jonathan Allard, (360) Andy Forsberg
2016- (410) Tim Kaeding, (360) Jason Meyers
2017- (410) Cory Eliason, (360) Dominic Scelzi

The King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series is also sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tires and Hydrochem PSC.  Associate and contingency award sponsors include ATL Racing Cells, Automotive Racing Products (ARP), Autometer, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Butler Built, FK Rod Ends, Flowmaster, Hooker Harness, Johnstone Supply, Kaeding Performance Center, KSE Racing Products, Maxim, PAC Racing Springs, Pyrotect, Racing Optics, Safecraft Safety Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, SCI Racing Products, Swift Metal Finishing, Sunnyvalley Bacon, System 1 Ignition, Ultra Light Brakes, Weld Racing Wheels, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Williams Roofing, Winters Performance Products and Croft Racing.

Website: www.NARC410.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kingofthewestsprints
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NARC410
Instagram: www.instagram.com/narc410
TheCushion.com – Video on Demand