(5/3/23) NARC BY THE NUM8ER5! – Chico, CA, By Ben Deatherage … This Saturday, May 6th, will be the fifth points-paying race of the 2023 season for the NARC 410 Sprint Car Series. The event will take place at Silver Dollar Speedway, and the track will host the David Tarter Memorial. Chico is the fourth different facility that the series visits in the current campaign, and it had an unfortunate rainout in March for the Mini Gold Cup.

In the 69 previous visits since 2001, 26 drivers have graced the victory lane. Tim Kaeding is number one on the win list (16) regarding trips to the Winner’s Circle. Jonathan Allard (9), Brent Kaeding (6), and a tie between Kyle Hirst and Sean Becker (4) are the top five on the win chart. Corey Day is the most recent winner, grabbing the David Tarter Memorial triumph at the lone visit to SDS last year.

Tim Kaeding leads the win list and is number one in Podiums (30) and Top 5s (36). He is second on the Top 10 list (41) and fifth in Starts (47). TK has the second-best Average Finish as well, with 4.68.

Sean Becker has the fifth most podiums at the facility (9) and is fourth in Top 5s (17), Top 10s (34), and Starts (50).

A total of 224 drivers have started at least one NARC 410 Sprint Series main event at Silver Dollar. The current track record is 10.918 seconds, established by Joey Saldana on March 13th, 2009.

Six win streaks have been established since 2001, too, all of which are back-to-back wins. Tim Kaeding and Jonathan Allard have performed the feat twice. TK’s were from July 2003 to March 2004, winning two races in July 2007.   The Allard streaks were in July 2006 and from May to June 2012. Rico Abreu, from May 2013 to May 2014, and Kyle Hirst, from April to June 2016, are the only others to go back-to-back.

As we wrap this edition of the column, it is so exciting to get back to Chico for the David Tarter Memorial. A great car count is expected, and the incredible 2023 season will undoubtedly continue to get even better.

Tim Kaeding’s last victory at Silver Dollar Speedway came during the 2019 NARC King of the West Speedweek. Photo by Donna Peter