(6/12/21 – Jim Allen), Placerville, CA …  Dominic Scelzi outran Shane Golobic to score a $7500 payday at the 30th Annual Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial King of the West Fujitsu Sprint Car Series 40-lap headliner at Placerville Speedway Saturday.

Scelzi second series win of the season aboard the Scelzi Enterprises/Whipple Superchargers #41 came by leading green-to-checkered to maximize the lap money and additional sponsorship that was up for grabs.  However, it wasn’t a cake walk as Golobic applied pressure the entire distance with a different outcome in mind.

On the initial start, Scelzi led a 24-car field into the first turn shadowed by Kyle Hirst, Willie Croft, Golobic and Justin Sanders.  Golobic maneuvered his way into the runner-up spot on the fifth circuit and the highspeed game of cat and mouse was in high gear.  The duo reached lap traffic two laps later and the moves became more frantic until the red flag appeared for an upside down Blake Carrick.  He was unhurt.

Once the race resume, it was more of the same.  Scelzi made some stellar moves squeezing past slower cars to increase his advantage on the slick surface, only to have Golobic reel him in a lap or two later.  It was that way the remaining distance until Scelzi scored his three-car length victory.

“I knew he was there the entire time and that I had to hold my line.” said Scelzi.  “He got next to me a couple of times and I just held my breath and kept going.”

Golobic said he gave it his best effort aboard Matt Wood’s Elk Grove Ford/NOS Energy sprint car.  Hirst won a late race battle over Croft to fill out the podium in the Williams Motorsports Maxim.  Series point leader Bud Kaeding was fifth.

Kalib Henry, Ryan Robinson, Stephen Ingraham, semi-winner DJ Netto and 15-year-old Joel Myers Jr. rounded out the top ten.  Jake Morgan, who started dead last in the 24-car field passed 10-cars to earn the hardcharger award and a $2000 bonus.

Willie Croft’s efforts in qualifying earned him the Carwash Mike Avilla fast time award and $1600.  His 10.476 second was the best among the 31-car field.

FUJITSU FEATURE EVENT (40 laps)  41S – Dominic Scelzi, 17W – Shane Golobic, 0 – Kyle Hirst, 29 – Willie Croft, 69 – Bud Kaeding, 93 – Kalib Henry, 56 – Ryan Robinson, 93X – Stephen Ingraham, 88N – DJ Netto, 46JR – Joe Myers Jr., 21 – Austin McCarl, 38B – Blake Carrick, 26 – Billy Aton, 25B – Jake Morgan, 37 – Mitchell Faccinto, 98 – Sean Watts, 7 – Kaleb Montgomery, 85 – CJ Humphreys, 16A – Justin Sanders, 92 – Andy Forsberg, 01 – Mitchell Moles, 33T – Jimmy Trulli, 83V – Sean Becker, 42X – Tim Kaeding.



ARP FAST QUALIFIER (31 cars):  Willie Croft – 10.476 seconds

BROWN & MILLER HEAT RACE #1 (10 laps):  Justin Sanders, Kaleb Montgomery, Willie Croft, Joel Myers Jr., Sean Becker, Jake Morgan, Colby Wiesz, John Clark.

FUJITSU GENERAL USA HEAT RACE #2 (10 laps):  Ryan Robinson, Kalib Henry, Dominic Scelzi, Stephen Ingraham, Billy Aton, Austin McCarl, Jimmy Trulli, Kenny Allen.

FLORACING.COM HEAT RACE #3 (10 laps):  Bud Kaeding, Tim Kaeding, Kyle Hirst, CJ Humphreys, Sean Watts, Michael Sellers, Shane Hopkins, Kyle Offill.

KAEDING PERFORMANCE CENTER #4 (10 laps): Andy Forsberg, Shane Golobic, Mitchell Faccinto, Blake Carrick, Mitchel Moles, Josh Wiesz, DJ Netto.

SUNNY VALLEY “POWERED BY BACON” DASH (6 laps):  Dominic Scelzi, Kyle Hirst, Willie Croft, Shane Golobic, Justin Sanders, Kalib Henry

12-LAP WILWOOD BRAKES LAST CHANCE RACE (12 laps):  DJ Netto, Austin McCarl, Jimmy Trulli, Jake Morgan, Shane Hopkins, Colby Wiesz, Josh Wiesz, Michael Sellers, Kyle Offill, John Clark, Kenny Allen.