(2/26/19) … Stockton, CA … The King of the West-NARC 410 sprint car series will kick off its highly-anticipated’ 60th Anniversary season with the Fujitsu Spring Nationals on Saturday, March 2nd at the Stockton Dirt Track.  This marks the first of 20-racing events scheduled to visit 10 different dirt tracks throughout California.

Many race teams are buzzing with optimism as the road to the coveted King of the West-NARC championship appears to be a wide open affair this year.  Some of this is due to defending four-time champion Kyle Hirst, who announced his semi-retirement during the off-season and that he will not be defending his championship.  This flips the door wide-open to several teams looking to lock down their legacy in Northern Auto Racing Club racing history with a coveted King of the West crown.  And there is no better place to start than taking home a stout $5,000 check for winning Saturday’s 30-lap headliner.

The field is expected to be stacked from top to bottom with top notch competitors.  Among them will be three returning series champions including 2017 champion Bud Kaeding of Campbell; two-time (2002 & 2011) ace Tim Kaeding of San Jose, and 2004 titlist Jason Statler of Grass Valley.

“I can easily see seven or eight teams contending for the title this season,” admitted Bud Kaeding, a winner of 19 career KWS events.  “It’s not very often that a champion doesn’t defend his title and everybody has stepped up their game to fill the void.  This will be a take no prisoners affair where every position will be hard fought.”

Among some of the driver’s Kaeding is referring to is Dominic Scelzi of Fresno.  Scelzi will be driving the iconic 83JR Fresno-based car owned by four-time defending car owner champ Dennis Roth.  Others include Hollister’s Ryan Bernal; Penngrove’s Chase Johnson; Willie Croft and Colby Copeland of Roseville; and Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto & DJ Netto to name a few.

“I can pretty much guarantee that Saturday’s show is going to be both interesting and entertaining,” continued Kaeding.  “Everyone is going to want to start out on a high note, because a win is a nice prerequisite for any championship run.  However, for those with points-chasing experience, we know that a top five finish against this group is considered a success when chasing a title.  It’s about having a lot more good nights than bad ones.”

Among those looking to possibly play the role of spoiler will be Rico Abreu of Rutherford and Cory Eliason of Brownsburg, IN.  Both drivers are pursuing racing aspirations on the national stage, but will be in Stockton to throw a twist into the championship drama.  Tim Kaeding is also in this category as he is pursuing an aggressive schedule around the country.

Front gates open at 2:00 p.m.  Qualifying will get underway at 3:30 p.m. and racing starts at 4:00 p.m.  The racing card also includes B-Mods.  The pit gate opens at 10:00 a.m.

The Stockton Dirt Track is located on the San Joaquin County Fairgrounds in Stockton, CA.  The address is 1658 S. Airport Way, Stockton, CA  95206.  For more information, call 209-466-9999, or go to www.stocktondirttrack.com or NARC410.com

The King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series is also sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tires and Hydrochem PSC.  Associate and contingency award sponsors include ATL Racing Cells, Automotive Racing Products (ARP), Autometer, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Butler Built, FK Rod Ends, Flowmaster, Hooker Harness, Johnstone Supply, Kaeding Performance Center, KSE Racing Products, Maxim, PAC Racing Springs, Pyrotect, Racing Optics, Safecraft Safety Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, SCI Racing Products, Swift Metal Finishing, Sunnyvalley Bacon, System 1 Ignition, Ultra Light Brakes, Weld Racing Wheels, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Williams Roofing, and Winters Performance Products.

Upcoming Events:
April 6 – The Dirt Track at Kern County Raceway Park
May 4 – Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, CA – 29th Annual Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial
May 18 – Thunderbowl Raceway, Tulare, CA – Peter Murphy Classic w/SCCT
June 1 – Petaluma Speedway

King of the West-NARC Fujitsu 410 Sprint Car Series

  1. Kyle Hirst, Paradise (6) – 1455
  2. Shane Golobic, Elk Grove (3) – 1422
  3. Bud Kaeding, Campbell (1) – 1378
  4. Chase Johnson, Penngrove – 1347
  5. Colby Copeland, Roseville (1) – 1310
  6. Dustin Golobic, Fremont – 1258
  7. Nathan Rolfe, Atwater – 1153
  8. DJ Netto, Hanford – 1152
  9. Jenna Frazier, Sacramento – 1130
  10. Willie Croft, Roseville (1) – 1126
  11. Jason Statler, Grass Valley – 957
  12. Sean Watts, Atwater – 909
  13. Bobby McMahan, Elk Grove – 849
  14. Mitchell Faccinto, Hanford (1) – 848
  15. Jarrett Soares, Discovery Bay – 840
  16. Tanner Thorson, Minden, NV – 739
  17. Richard Brace Jr., Auburn – 725
  18. Mathew Moles, Fresno – 543
  19. Craig Stidham, Fresno – 531
  20. Matt Dumesny – Australia – 520

Website: www.NARC410.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kingofthewestsprints
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NARC410
Instagram: www.instagram.com/narc410