(5/1/18) Auburn, CA … Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico will play host to the exciting King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Sprint Car Series for the only time this season on Saturday, May 5th at the 28th Annual Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial.

This event marks the fourth round of the 16-race schedule that will ultimately crown the coveted King of the West-NARC winged sprint car champion.  Up for grabs will be a purse in excess of $27,000, including lap money and other special awards.

The race, in honor of the former Northern Auto Racing Club driver who lost his life in a racing accident in 1987, is one of the longest continuously running events in California motorsports.  The win list reads like a “whose-who” of Golden State sprint car legends and rates as a bucket list item for most drivers of the current generation.

Among those is Elk Grove’s Shane Golobic, who is currently locked in a heated championship points battle with three-time series champ Kyle Hirst of Paradise.

“Winning the Bradway race would be a huge accomplishment for me,” admitted Golobic.  “Everybody in open wheel racing knows about this event and to be able to say I won it would be something I would proudly display on my racing resume.”

The feature event features 22-winged 410 c.i. 950-horsepower sprint cars for 40-laps, the most on the 2018 schedule by 10-laps.  The winner will pocket a minimum of $4,000.  Lap money pays the top three frontrunners on each lap so it is very lucrative to run up front.

Golobic continued, “I’ve been close to winning this race, but haven’t been able to pull it off.  Being that it’s a 40-lapper, there is more time to move to the front, but also more variables that can come into play.  My Tarlton Motorsports team is prepared for just about any scenario and will be putting me in the best position to succeed.”

Hirst will be looking to claim his second Bradway Memorial after banking a victory in 2016.  Other previous winners expected to be in the field are defending series champion Bud Kaeding of Campbell (2015); and brother Tim Kaeding of San Jose (2002 & 2008).

Last year’s winner Rico Abreu has dominated three of the past five races, pocketed more than $8000 for his effort last season.  He is currently committed to race back East, opening the door for a new winner.

Other’s entries looking to claim their first victory in this prestigious event include Hanford driver Mitchell Faccinto; Chase Johnson and Buddy Kofoid of Penngrove; Roseville’s Willie Croft and Colby Copeland; Fresno driver Dominic Scelzi; Sean Watts and Nathan Rolfe of Atwater; Grass Valley’s Jason Statler; Mathew Moles of Fresno; rookie of the year candidate’s Dustin Golobic (Fremont) and Jenna Frazier (Sacramento); and many others.

Lap money consist of $100 per lap, paying the top three positions ($50, $30, $20) on every lap in the main event and last chance qualifier.  The Mike Avilla Fast Time award will award a cool $1000 to the fastest qualifier.  The Hardcharger Award, presented to the driver who passes the most cars in the feature event, will also pay $650.  There are many other awards that the racing community has contributed to make this race a huge success.

The King of the West-NARC racing format includes qualifying, heat-races, the Sunnyvalley Bacon trophy dash, a 12-lap Last Chance Qualifier, and the 40-lap Fujitsu/Hoosier sponsored headliner.

Pit gates open at 3:00 p.m. and front gates open at 5:00 p.m.  Qualifying gets underway at 6:30 p.m.  Also on the racing card is IMCA Sport Mods.

Silver Dollar Speedway is located at the fairgrounds in Chico, approximately ½ mile west of US 99.  For more information, go to www.silverdollarspeedway.com or www.NARC410.com, or call 530-891-6535.

1991 – Jason McMillen – McMillen 21
1992 – Greg DeCaries – Bumgarner 88
1993 – Eric Rossi – Family Auto Service 98x
1994 – Randy Tiner – Clyde Lamar 3c
1995 – Brent Kaeding – BK Racing 69
1996 – Paul McMahan – Clyde Lamar 3c
1997 – Jimmy Sills – Dennis Johnson 14d
1998 – Randy Tiner – Rod Tiner 83  (2)
1999 – Brent Kaeding – Al Peterson 2m  (2)
2000 – Brent Kaeding – Al Peterson 2m  (3)
2001 – Jonathan Allard – Rick Wright 35
2002 – Tim Kaeding – Rick Wright 35
2003 – Jonathan Allard – Rick Wright  35  (2)
2004 – Jason Statler – DF Rios 00
2005 – Jonathan Allard – Morrie Williams 0  (3)
2006 – Sean Becker – Fisher/Main 35m
2007 – Brent Kaeding – BK Racing 69  (4)
2008 – Tim Kaeding – Tom Rolfe 10  (2)
2009 – Jonathan Allard – Morrie Williams 0  (4)
2010 – Shane Stewart – Paul Silva 57
2011 – Peter Murphy – Dalton’s 11
2012 – Jonathan Allard – Morrie Williams 0  (5)
2013 – Rico Abreu – Abreu Vineyards 24
2014 – Rico Abreu – Abreu Vineyards 24 (2)
2015 – Bud Kaeding – Morrie Williams 0
2016 – Kyle Hirst – Tarlton Motorsports 21x
2017 – Rico Abreu – Abreu Vineyards 24  (3)
(After three events in 16-race Series – 05/01/18)

  1. Kyle Hirst, Paradise (1) 280
  2. Shane Golobic, Fremont (1) 272
  3. Bud Kaeding, Campbell (1) 267
  4. DJ Netto, Hanford 256
  5. Mitchell Faccinto, Hanford 256
  6. Chase Johnson, Penngrove 254
  7. Jason Statler, Grass Valley 247
  8. Colby Copeland, Roseville 239
  9. Dustin Golobic, Fremont ® 235
  10. Sean Watts, Atwater 224
  11. Jarrett Soares, Discovery Bay 222
  12. Mathew Moles, Fresno 221
  13. Nathan Rolfe, Atwater 219
  14. Mark Barroso, Merced 218
  15. Jenna Frazier, Sacramento ® 212

The King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series is also sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tires.  Associate and contingency award sponsors include ATL Racing Cells, Automotive Racing Products (ARP), Autometer, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Butler Built, FK Rod Ends, Flowmaster, Hooker Harness, HydrochemPSC, Johnstone Supply, Kaeding Performance Center, KSE Racing Products, Maxim, PAC Racing Springs, Pyrotect, Racing Optics, Safecraft Safety Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, SCI Racing Products, Swift Metal Finishing, Sunnyvalley Bacon, System 1 Ignition, Ultra Light Brakes, Weld Racing Wheels, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Williams Roofing, Winters Performance Products and Willie Croft Racing.

Dave Bradway Jr. always knew how to get the most out of a sprint car.

May 19th – Thunderbowl Raceway, Tulare, CA – Second Night of Peter Murphy Classic
June 2nd – Thunderbowl Raceway, Tulare, CA  — Chris & Brian Faria Memorial
June 9th – Petaluma Speedway, Petaluma, CA
June 22nd – Ocean Speedway, Watsonville, CA – Pombo-Sargent Classic
June 23rd – Calistoga Speedway, Calistoga, CA – Wine Country Classic w/Civil War Sprint Cars

Website: www.NARC410.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/kingofthewestsprints
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NARC410
Instagram: www.instagram.com/narc410
TheCushion.com – Video on Demand