(6/27/17) Jim Allen – Hanford, CA …  The 3/8 mile banked dirt oval of Keller Auto Speedway in Hanford, CA will play host to the exciting 900-horsepower open wheel sprint cars of the King of the West-NARC Fujitsu Racing Series this Saturday, July 1st.

This marks the 11th stop on the ultra-competitive 17-race KWS-NARC series and the first at Hanford this season.  This year’s campaign has already produced eight different feature event winners compared to only six last year.

Among those competing on Saturday is Hanford’s very own DJ Netto.  The 21-year old driver captured one of the biggest victories of his racing career on June 24th at Calistoga Speedway.  He has also won a weekly show at Keller Auto Speedway this season.  He would like nothing better than to cash out with a $3000 winners payday on Saturday.

“Hanford is normally wide and slick up to a curb, which makes for great racing,” said Netto.  “It’s definitely one of my favorite tracks on the schedule and I’m looking to make up some ground in the (championship) points standings.”

Netto is currently fourth in points, chasing leader Bud Kaeding of Campbell, one of three different drivers to lead the season-long battle this season.  At stake are shares in a year end $62,000 point fund, including $10,000 for the championship team.

Kaeding is currently locked in a torrid battle with a pair of Central California open wheel stars — 15-year old Gio Scelzi of Fresno and Selma’s Cory Eliason.  Kaeding’s lead is just five points over Scelzi and seven markers ahead of Eliason.  Netto is in the running, stalking 22-points behind; an amount which can be made up in a single racing program.

“It’s been a heated contest all season and no one driver has been able to dominate like in previous seasons,”  continued Netto, who drives a car owned by Clyde Lamar of West Sacramento.  “If my team can put together a few more wins and consistently finish in the top five the rest of the year, I can find myself in the thick of things.”

Others expected to compete include three-time series champion Kyle Hirst of Paradise; Michael “Buddy” Kofoid of Penngrove;  Elk Grove’s Bobby McMahan; Jarrett Soares of Discovery Bay; Atwater drivers Sean Watts and Nathan Rolfe, and Fresno’s Craig Stidham.

The KWS-NARC program includes qualifying, three 10-lap heat races, the six-lap Hoosier Tires Dash; followed by the 30-lap high stakes Fujitsu Sprint Car Series headliner.  Also on the racing card is the Allstar Modified Tour, IMCA Stock Cars, and Mini-stocks.

Pit gates open at 2:30 p.m.  Front gates open at 4:30 p.m.

Keller Auto Speedway is located at the fairgrounds in Hanford.  The address is 801 S. 10th Avenue, Hanford, CA  93230.  For more information, call 559-584-7223, or go to NARC410.com


July 15 – Ocean Speedway, Watsonville, CA – Howard Kaeding Classic

The King of the West Fujitsu Racing Series – presented by the Northern Auto Racing Club is co-sponsored by Hoosier Racing Tires.  Contingency award sponsors include  ATL Racing Cells, ARP Racing Bolts, BMRS, Butler Built, FK Rod Ends, Flowmaster, Fuel Safe Racing Cells, Kaeding Performance Center, KSE Racing Products, Maxim, PAC Racing Springs, Pyrotect, Racing Optics, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, SCI Racing Products, System 1 Ignition, Ultra Light Brakes, Weld Racing Wheels, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Williams Roofing, and Winters Performance Products.

(After ten events in 17-race Series)

  1. Bud Kaeding, Campbell (1) – 581
  2. Giovanni Scelzi, Fresno (3) – 576
  3. Cory Eliason, Selma (1) – 574
  4. DJ Netto, Hanford (1) – 559
  5. Kyle Hirst, Paradise (1) – 494
  6. Michael Kofoid, Penngrove – 478
  7. Bobby McMahan, Elk Grove – 474
  8. Sean Watts, Atwater – 463
  9. Jarrett Soares, Discovery Bay – 459
  10. Nathan Rolfe, Atwater – 439
  11. Willie Croft, Sacramento – 402
  12. Shane Golobic, Fremont (1) – 341
  13. Mitchell Faccinto, Hanford – 334
  14. Brent Bjork, Fremont – 278
  15. Chase Johnson, Penngrove (1) – 251
  16. Carson Macedo, Lemoore – 230
  17. Mathew Moles, Fresno – 218
  18. Sean Becker, Roseville – 196
  19. Dominic Scelzi, Fresno – 195
  20. Craig Stidham, Fresno – 193